The National Basketball Association (NBA) Finals is the championship series to the NBA and the conclusion of its postseason. All Finals Are played at a best-of-seven format, and therefore are contested between the winners of the Eastern Conference and the Western Convention (previously Divisions before 1970), except in 1950 when the Eastern Division champion faced the winner between the Western and Central Division champions. From 1946 through 1949, when the league was known as the Basketball Association of America (BAA), the playoffs were a three-stage tournament where the two semifinal winners played in the finals. [1][2][3] this series’ group receives the Larry O’Brien Championship Trophy.
The present home-and-away format in the NBA Finals is 2–2–1–1–1 (the team with the better regular-season record plays in their home court in Games 1, 2, 5, and 7), which has been utilized in 1947–1948, 1950–1952, 1957–1970, 1972–1974, 1976–1977, 1979–1984, and 2014–present. It was formerly in two –3–2 format (the group with the better regular season record plays in their home court in Games 1, 2, 6, and 7) during 1949, 1953–1955, and 1985–2013,[4][5][6][7][8][9] at a 1–1–1–1–1– 1 — 1 1–1 structure throughout 1956 and 1971,[10][11] and in a 1–2–2–1–1 — 1 format throughout 1975 and 1978. [12][13]
The Eastern Conference/Division leads the Western Conference/Division in string won (39–34). The defunct Central Division, when the then existing Eastern Division was updated as a convention, in presence during the 1949 — 50 NBA season when the NBA was split into three branches and different from the Central Division created in 1970, won one tournament. The Boston Celtics and the Minneapolis/Los Angeles Lakers own almost half of the titles, having won a combined 33 of 73 championships. The defending champions are as of 2019.

Read more: